A Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Blurb:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Like many other readers out there, I was also lured by the beautiful book cover. Don’t lie. You judge a book by its cover. And my, oh my. The first three chapters is just as beautiful as the cover. I am also taken aback by the fact that this book is also dystopian. Yup. I did not see that coming. I just thought it’ll be a regular, run on the mill teen romance book with sweet, innocent romance scenes. Little do I know, this book is a mix of Hunger games without the blood thirsty characters (more like Prince thirsty *wink wink) and The Bachelor.

I just picked up the box set of this book and let me just tell you, I don’t think I’ll ever return the box set. In just three days, I finished the three books of the series (what’s sleep anyways?) and I just can’t put the darn book down!

tumblr_o06lrcgenk1s2oxgqo1_500

The overall premise of the first book is America’s journey in surviving the Selection and at the same time, mend her broken heart. America Singer is a strong female character not only because she has the usual I-can-kick-your-ass attitude, but also because she fights what challenges her character overall. What I mean by this is that America is not a pretentious girl. She knows she needs the money. She knows that her family needs her effort in order to survive the caste-centric system and the blind absolute monarchy type of governance. She lives in a world where her past kin predetermines her worth. America is a Five, she is three caste below the lowest and she, too, experiences and understands how hard it is for her family to get food in the table.

That’s why I really like her as much as I like Katniss Everdeen. At a young age, she knows how hard it is for people like her to get the privileges of the higher caste. She soon realizes how the caste system just ruins everybody, and how outdated that shit is (pardon my language, I’m really passionate about this).

And let’s also talk about the love triangle in this book. To be quite honest, I shipped Aspen and America for the first half of the book. But as the story revolves around America and the prince, my heart wanted to ship them together, but my brain is telling me no. I was super conflicted throughout the book, and I think the author truly captures how it feels like to be in America’s situation. Both men are very different, but they showcase their feelings for America in similar ways that it’s hard for America to see which one of them weighs in her heart more.

k1tlqfc

Sometimes I imagine if this book is posted in Wattpad. I can just imagine the readers bombard each line, each word, and each paragraph with “slay” and “my queen”. At the same time, I can also imagine how many readers will become upset at how America is caught in between two guys, and that she is a B*tch for a reason that I can’t post here (that’ll be too much spoiler).

Anyway, I’ll give this book 10/10 for just the sheer fact that I can’t stop reading at all, and the quality of romance is just one-of-a-kind for me. If you really liked Hunger Games, you should give this one a try. You will not regret!

signature

Leave a Reply

